Loving Mendocino County and Random Personal Musings

Hubby and I went roadtripping to Mendocino this weekend. Mendocino is an ideal setting for a short story! I love it there! On the day we drove the coastline, however, it was foggy. The bad: It was foggy. The good: The mood set by the fog inspired me to write a short story! That’s definitely new. Fiction I have written so far have all been set in the New England region of the States. To write or to even think of writing about NorCal is different for me.

The above photos are of Glass Beach in Fort Bragg. The site used to be a dump where locals threw their trash: glass bottles, appliances, all sorts of junk and litter. Over the course of 50 years, the pounding waves of the Pacific wore away the glass, metals, and plastic into smooth pebble-like pieces. Really, really pretty!

Photo Credit: Glass Beach, Wikipedia.org

Also, since it was a looooooong drive, I got some reading done in the car. Kartika Review editors were given advance review copies (ARCs) of Hagedorn’s latest novel, Toxicology, a book I can best describe based on my superficial preliminary reading of it as very pomo. I know some folks shudder at being categorized as pomo lit (in particular the folks who write pomo lit), but I mean c’mon, the novel was a pastiche of pop culture references rendered into a nonlinear narrative with a lot of irony, self-deprecation, and dark humor. Gee, what’s the sum of these parts? Toxicology is as postmodern-lit as postmodern-lit gets these days.

In the case of this particular book, that is all a very good thing. I enjoy Hagedorn’s writing immensely! Count me one of her biggest fans.

Again, though, I read it very fast in the car on a roadtrip, and will be giving the novel a second, closer reading. What I have to say about it may change after that. Readers who enjoy David Foster Wallace, Chuck Palahniuk, or Don Delillo will probably like Toxicology a lot. The book is out this month (April 2011), so go out and get it!

And yes, that’s one of the first prototypes of the Peripatetic weekender tote in pink that I carried all weekend. The above photo is a camera-phone pic of it in the car.

Over my objections against him doing what he’s doing in the above photo, Hubby crossed that narrow bridge-cliff-thing. Not. Cool. I was on the verge of a panic attack the whole time I watched him cross it.

Oh, and look what arrived in the mail just in time for me to take on the trip:

My Compassion Fashion Project tee! Also see the way-too-kind, made-me-sound-way-cooler-than-I-am article the organization posted about Taryn Zhang and me on their blog, linked here. As you can see, we did a mini-interview exchange. =)

Let’s conclude today’s programming with a pseudo-OOTD. =)

In addition to the cool Compassion Fashion Project tee, made with eco-friendly, sustainable organic cotton (and carrying my very own Taryn Zhang Peripatetic tote, which of course is not pictured because that would make too much sense, you know, to remember to advertise my own bags), I’m wearing an adorable necklace designed by Eki Mura, the jewelry designer behind EkiLove.

The Love Neko Necklace. Photo Credit: store.ekilove.com

Eki is multi-talented and wears many hats. In addition to accessories design (including handbags!) she’s a makeup guru, artist, and–well, okay, mind as well put it out there–as Hubby might remark, a “hot chic.” There’s just no avoiding it, which is that this designer happens to be very, very, incredibly beautiful.

Photo Credit: ekilove.com

The design point of view of EkiLove may best be described as pink pearly girly pretty princess cuteness (try saying that a hundred times as fast as you can), and is a wildly popular style in Asia that is just beginnning to gain attention here in the States. It’s derived from Japan’s harajuku fashions, and this particular style is referred to as the hime or “princess” style. I certainly could never pull off the hime style, but one necklace here or two is fine. =) Especially if it’s by someone as sweet, gracious, and talented as Eki Mura!

Anyway. Check out her stuff. Right now, a significant portion of all EkiLove’s proceeds will go to support earthquake and tsunami relief efforts in Japan.

About tarynzhang

Visit us at www.tarynzhang.com.
This entry was posted in Friends in the Trade, Musings, Personal, Unrelated, Vacation Pics. Bookmark the permalink.